Skullclutter's Log

One thing I liked about my old log on Koohii was being able to look back at my progress.

With that in mind, I’ll copy some of the intro, and then summaries for 2017, 2018 and 2019 to date.

I’m a web developer, and I’ve been working on branching out into game development. My goal is to be able to create translation patches for old games that were never localized, and I want to be able to read materials on game design and development written by japanese developers. And, of course, partake in any other japanese media that strikes my fancy.

I started my log in August 2017. At the time I was just starting Genki, chapter 5, and was transitioning from using my own Genki vocab deck to using Core10K. I was considring buying KKLC but hadn’t gotten it yet.
Studied fairly regularly until mid-December. In that time I finished up to Chapter 10 in Genki 1 and up to #60 in KKLC

It took me a month after the holidays to get back into the swing of things.
Finished Genki 1 by the end of February and then took the JCAT two weeks later:

Listening: 22
Vocabulary: 34
Grammar: 26
Reading: 42
Total: 124

Did part of Chapter 13 and got up to KKLC#82 before getting caught up as a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding. Picked things back up again at the end of August. Signed up for Japanese classes in September and studied regularly the rest of the year. By the end of December I was up to Chapter 19 in Genki 2 and KKLC#156

With Class to keep my studies in my mind, and got back to studying right after New Year’s. With the end of Genki in sight, I’ve started to collect native material to try my hand at after I finish. Still averaging about 0.5 Genki chapter and 8 KKLC entries per week.

Last Entry: February 19, 2019
Genki:
Finished Chapter 22
Next Week: Chapter 23.

KKLC:
Got 4 done.
Next Week: 8 new Kanji
Currently At: #228

Anki:
Working on Tobira Ch 2 vocab
Mature: 2055 +71
Young & Learn: 349 -27

I’ll pick things back up from here with the normal update on Monday.