Midi's Study Corner

I decided to start a study log :slight_smile:

Background
I started learning in August of last year when I participated in a beginners’ Japanese summer course. I got hooked and have been studying for the whole year now. Somewhere halfway through the year I found out about anki for memorising words and kanji, and I’ve been keeping up my reviews. I also have weekly sessions with a very good native Japanese tutor. In those sessions we communicate exclusively in Japanese, which is difficult but very helpful for learning.

I think my main motivations for starting to learn were my interest in Japanese music and art and the challenge of learning a completely new language. Right now I feel I’m mostly learning because I enjoy the learning itself a lot. Most of the long term goals I have in mind, like being able to read Japanese novels and watching movies without subs, still feel very far away, but I’m determined to get to that point eventually.

Next up
So in a few weeks time I’m taking the N4. It’s my first time taking any kind of test for Japanese so I have no idea what to expect! But I’m looking forward to it a lot. I bought N4 practice books for grammar, listening and reading and plan on working my way through all of those in the next couple weeks.

With the Tadoku thing just starting up I was hoping to get a nice number of pages. I don’t feel like I could compete yet so I’m going to ignore the ranking for now, but I’ll try to read as much as I can and I’m aiming to get something around 80 pages for this round. The things I’m reading are mostly graded readers, ‘easy Japanese’ websites aimed at learners, and よつばと. I’m also struggling my way through first volume of the 3月のライオン manga, it’s way above my level, but since I already know the plot from watching the anime I’m still having fun with it.

Anki