Let's Tadoku (or something like it)?

So I know the official tadoku thing sort of crashed and burned and no one has replaced it, but anyone up for like…an unofficial version? Using a spreadsheet or something…

I really miss tadoku because I liked the ‘competition’ and reading a lot really helped me move forward more. And I know a lot of you like tadoku too! So I was wondering if anyone wanted to put something together - I’m not a programmer unfortunately otherwise I would try to put the twitter thing back together.

3 Likes

I’d love to restart Tadoku!
I remember someone saying that they were going to set up a new one somehow, but I haven’t heard any updates on that.

I don’t think coding it on its own site would be difficult, but then we’d need someone to host it.
Pretty sure Twitter changed things in a way that broke the previous bot (and frankly, I was never a big fan of doing it on Twitter to begin with). I’d rather not rely on a third-party service for the core function of the tracker.

[cloud gazing] Maybe if we made a local application that pulled and pushed data to a database that was distributed p2p we could minimize hosting costs… [/ cloud gazing]

Anyway, I probably don’t know what I’m talking about. I do want a new incarnation of Tadoku, though.

What about doing something like a mini fundraiser? Like we’ve done for Fabrice before. If we could figure out hosting costs and whatnot we could theoretically put the money together.

That doesn’t quite take care of the coding or anything but it would be a start.

Don’t worry about fundraising for hosting fees. There are providers with no-cost tiers that can handle 多読。

I can probably do it sometime in the next few weeks.

2 Likes

Could someone explain what exactly Tadoku ist?:sweat_smile: I haven’t heard of it before.

2 Likes