Dethlore's study log

Ok, I feel that keeping one of those study logs might be a good way to go about organizing my further adventure with Japanese language. I’m a rather advance learner but never really did that much of self-study, so I would be glad to hear any opinions or advices on what I’m doing from all of you.

Background:

I have no idea when exactly I started learning Japanese for the first time, but it was a long time ago and I stopped pretty quick. Picked it up again later and… quit again after just learning some basics. Then I started learning for the third time probably somewhere around 2012, this time much more seriously. I got by myself to a bit above N4 level (hadn’t taken the test though) and then in 2013 went for Japanese Studies course at a university, which I finished within 5 years with MA degree.

I spent my 4th year of studies on a scholarship in Japan. During that time I deciced to try for N1 without any special preparation for the exam but still passed with a relative ease - apparently what I’d been doing at the university was more than enough for it. And I finally learned to actually speak in Japanese, because up until going to Japan I’d always done great on written tests but speaking was definitely my weakest point.

Then the 5th year was mostly writing the MA thesis and not much of actual studying so I haven’t made much progress since, at least in terms of grammar or vocabulary. I had plenty of opportunities to use Japanese though, so my speaking and listening skills went a bit up.

Now I am at a point when I believe I can say my Japanese is fairly good overall but still far from native-like fluency and I need to figure out how to get there. I love learning Japanese and I’m motivated to strive for further progress.

Current level:

• grammar: covered most bunkei up to N1 but need solid reviewing; also I believe I have solid understanding of how Japanese grammar works in general (read a lot on Japanese lingustics)